Young Leaders

Young Leaders meeting President Macron at the Élysée Palace

The Franco-British Young Leaders Programme was launched in 2017 by The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

The programme was first announced at the 2016 Franco-British Summit by former President, François Hollande, and former Prime Minister, David Cameron.

The Franco-British Young Leaders Programme aims to deepen understanding and collaboration between France and the UK and create lasting bilateral dialogue at the highest level. Its objective is to build a generation of 21st century leaders who will keep the Franco-British relations at heart and shape its future across all sectors of our societies and economies.

It is delivered by the Franco-British Council with the support of the French Foreign Ministry and the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office, as well as a number of private sponsors.

Franco-British Young Leaders

All Young Leaders come from distinguished careers across a diversity of sectors ranging from politicians, journalists, scientists, the military and academics to business entrepeneurs, a chef, a pianist, an art critic and an explorer.

20 new Young Leaders will be appointed in 2020.

You can find out information on applying to the Franco-British Young Leaders Programme by clicking here.

Our Sponsors

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Partner-logos-business.jpg

2020 – names to be announced


Ahmed Abdel-Hakam
Senior Associate, International Arbitration and Public International Law, Eversheds Sutherland
Emma Barnett
BBC Journalist
Clémence Bernard
Research Associate, King’s College London
Andrew Bowie MP
Member of Parliament
Charles Consigny
Lawyer at the Paris Bar
Guillaume Coube
Marine Nationale, Ecole de Guerre
Charles Ebikeme
Policy Fellow, London School of Economics
Alice Ekman
Senior Analyst in charge of China and Asia, European Union Institute for Security Studies (EUISS) and Associate Professor, Sciences Po
Clo’e Floirat
Art critic, author and cartoonist
Antoine Forterre
Co-CEO, Man AHL and Member of the Executive Committee, Man Group
Sylvestre Frezal
Director, Covea and President, Appenin
Olivia Grégoire
Députée à l’Assemblée Nationale
Edouard Guigou
Managing Director, Eurazeo
Ben Goodwin
Pilot, Royal Air Force
Daniel Hamilton
Managing Director, FTI Consulting
Inès Leonarduzzi
Chief Executive Officer, Digital for the Planet
Nathanael Mason-Schuler
Advisor for Financial Services and Investment, Private Office of the French Prime Minister
Alison McGovern MP
Member of Parliament
Arthur Muller
Co-founder, eXplain
Eugenie de Naurois
Head of Corporate Affairs, City of London Corporation
James Parker
Commanding Officer RAF Scampton, Royal Air Force
Sebastian Payne
Whitehall correspondent and columnist, Financial Times
Jessica Pennetier
Head of International Communications, Choose Paris Region
Nabila Ramdani
Freelance journalist, columnist and broadcaster
Vicki Rowlands
Head of Engagement, Cabinet Office, UK Civil Service
Luke Selby
Head Chef, HIDE Above Restaurant
Tanguy Séné
Basel Policy Lead, Bank of England
Tom Shinner
Chief Operating Officer, Entrepreneur First
Lt Col Ludovic Sommerlat
Cavalry Officer, French Army
Sophie Spencer-Small
British Army Officer
Constance Vidot
Investment Professional, Vitruvian Partners
Sarah Whitley
Associate and Soliciter, Gide Loyrette Nouel
Levison Wood
Broadcaster, author and photographer
Georgina Wright
Senior Researcher, Institute for Government


Bim Afolami MP
Member of Parliament
Ross Bailey
Founder, Appear Here
Jean-Jacques Barberis
Membre du Comité Exécutif, Amundi
Aurore Bergé
Députée à l’Assemblée Nationale
Christophe de Cacqueray
Directeur, Covea Innovation Lab
Agathe Cagé
Présidente, Compass Label
Olivier Cotinat
Co-Fondateur, SchoolLab et MoHo
Célimène Daudet
Pianiste Internationale
Johanna French
British Army Exchange Officer
Alexandre Holroyd
Député a l’Assemblée Nationale
Richard Hughes
Acting Chief Economic Advisor HM Treasury
James Jones
Documentary maker
Thibault Lavernhe
Officier de marine, Capitaine de frégate, Commandant la frégate Surcouf
Ning Li
Baptiste Maurand
Directeur Général Adjoint, Grand Port Maritime du Havre
George Merrylees
Partner, Irwin Mitchell llp
Isabelle Millat
Responsable de la division Sustainable Investment Solutions – Global Markets, Société Générale
Henry Newman
Senior Brexit Adviser, Cabinet Office
Julie de la Sablière
Présidente, Little Wing
Robert Simmons
Royal Marines Commanding Officer
Tilly Spencer
Head of Gas Operations, EDF Energy
Wes Streeting MP
Member of Parliament
Beth Thompson
Head of UK and EU Policy, Wellcome Trust
Aida Todri-Sanial
Chercheuse au CNRS, rattachée au Laboratoires LIRMM
Céline Vallot
Responsable d’équipe, Institut Curie


Anushka Asthana
Editor at large, The Guardian
Wg Cdr Calvin Bailey MBE
Royal Air Force
Jérôme Batout
Director General, Publicis Media
Clément Beaune
Conseiller Europe et G20, Présidence de la République
Olivier-Remy Bel
Visiting Fellow, Atlantic Council
Camille Bonenfant-Jeanneney
Directrice Generale, Compagnie Generale de Chauffage Urbain
Melissa Bouchard
Cardiology Registrar sub-specialising in Adult Congenital Heart Disease
Catherine Boullay
Journaliste, réalisatrice pour Envoyé Spécial
James Dacre
Artistic Director, Royal & Derngate Theatres
Simon Day
Co-Founder, Apptivism
Jeanne Dubarry de Lassalle
Co-fondatrice et Presidente de OKOTYG
Virginie Duby-Muller
Député de Haute-Savoie, Assemblée Nationale
Paul Esmein
Directeur général Offres et Services, Covea
Nicolas Hazard
Fondateur, INCO
Marcie Hopkins
Head of International Office,The British Library
Anne-Claire Howard
Executive Director, Bettercoal
Faisal Islam
Economics Editor, BBC News
Thomas Kitching
Professor in Astrophysics, University College London; CSA Emerging Technology Attache, FCO
David Mackintosh
Former Member of Parliament
Mathieu Nebra
Cofondateur et CPO, OpenClassrooms
Laela Pakpour Tabrizi
Group Chief Financial Officer, MotorK
Stephen Parkinson
Member, House of Lords, Former Political Secretary to the Prime Minister, 10 Downing Street
Richard Parks
Extreme Sports athlete
Alexandre Perra
Directeur Exécutif du Groupe en charge de l’innovation, de la Responsabilité d’entreprise et de la Stratégie, EDF
Raphael Rodriguez
Directeur de recherche, CNRS
Robin Rivaton
VC Investor, IDInvest
Julien de Saint-Quentin
Officier de Marine, Marine Nationale
Boris Saragaglia
Fondateur et PDG, Spartoo
Jean-Pascal Sibiet
Président, Franco-British Connections
Gilles Vanderpooten
Directeur, Reporters d’Espoirs
Amélie Verdier
Directrice du budget, Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances
David Wahl
Directeur Général, Scientia Education
Zvi Wohlgemuth
Managing Director, Société Générale