We promote
dialogue between
France and
the UK for


David Mackintosh, Director

Alexandra Moinier,
Administrator, Operations
& Communications

Colonel (Retired) Geoff Wright,
Senior Advisor, Franco-British
Defence Conference 2018

The Franco-British Council is an independent organisation based in Paris and London. Our mission is to reflect the wide relationships between the two nations and promote constructive dialogue for enhanced future collaboration.

The Council was founded in 1972 on the joint initiative of President Georges Pompidou and Prime Minister Edward Health, in a context of a developing Europe and of an increasingly globalised community. Since then, it has dedicated itself to the promotion of a better mutual understanding and the development of joint action through bringing together leading representatives of the worlds of culture, politics, defence, science, education and business.

While the UK and France enjoy a long history of alliance and friendship, there is also a persisting cultural mistrust, a perception, often hidden behind jokes and clichés, that the nations can’t understand each other. The Council was formed to help confront these preconceived notions and encourage a better understanding between the two nations, leading to a more positive relationship, a greater dialogue and a more productive collaboration.

More than 40 years after its creation, in the current geopolitical context and Brexit, the Council’s mission resonates even more. Now more than ever, strong ties need to continue to be built between both nations, providing even more opportunities for people to engage at all levels.

The Council is a non-governmental organisation with charitable status. It has a bilateral governance with members and trustees in both countries. It receives funding from the British and French governments and generous partners.

Today, we deliver our mission through:

The Franco-British Young Leaders
and Local Leaders Programmes

History has taught us that whatever the challenges we have faced, France and Britain have remained close. The stronger the ties between the leaders of the two countries, the more prosperous the relationship will be.

With this in mind, the Council selects the best talents on both sides of the Channel and gives them the opportunity to meet, share their experiences and join a transformational network with access to excellence. These young leaders will shape the future of Franco-British relations and the programme provides a unique platform of influence. The programmes were announced by Prime Minister Cameron and President Hollande at the Amiens Summit in 2016.

Informed debates on key areas of cooperation

Since 2010, the Franco-British Defence Conference has brought together high profile representatives from the military, government, industry and academia from both sides of the Channel to share ideas and discuss current issues in the defence arena.

Our Chairs

Baroness Tessa Blackstone UK Franco-British Council Chair, Labour Peer
Hervé Mariton France Président du Conseil Franco-Britannique

Our Trustees

Baroness Tessa Blackstone UK Franco-British Council Chair, Labour Peer
Christopher Deacon UK Treasurer, Non-executive Director of Thames Water and Adviser to OFGEM
David Wahl UK Directeur Général, Scientia Education
Marisha Ray UK Parliamentary candidate, School Governor, Vice-Chair of Ethnic Minority Liberal Democrats
Mary Walsh UK Director of Communications, Eurostar
Michael Butcher UK Chairman, dataLearning Limited
Philippe Peirs UK Managing Director, Head of Real Estate, Nevastar Finance Ltd
Rupert Reece UK Partner, Gyde Loyrette Nouel
Simon Day UK Co-Founder, Apptivism
Sir Mark Boleat UK Chairman, Link Scheme Holdings Ltd
Christian Pierret France Vice-Président Délégué - Avocat aux Barreaux de Paris et de Bruxelles
Elsa Mondet France Trésorière Adjointe
Hervé Mariton France Président du Conseil Franco-Britannique
Jean Pascal Sibiet France Président, Franco-British Connections
Joelle Garriaud-Meylam France Sénatrice des Français de l'Etranger  
Olivier Martin France Trésorier - Secrétaire Général, MBDA
Olivier-Remy Bel France Visiting Fellow, Atlantic Council
Patrick Henault France Membre du Bureau
Thibaud Harrois France Secrétaire Général - Attaché d’Enseignement et de Recherche, Université  Paris 1

Our Members

Laurent Bonnaud France Economiste historien
Laurent Guimier France Directeur Radio et Contenus, Radio France
Laurent Zylberberg France Secrétaire Général, Directeur des Relations Internationales et Institutionnelles, Groupe Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations
Justin Vaisse France Directeur du Centre d’analyse de révision et de stratégie, Ministère des affaires étrangères
Josseline De Clausade France Conseillère du Président du Groupe Casino
Jean Gueginou France Membres d’Honneur - Diplomate
Jean-Yves Audouin France Préfet honoraire
Josselin de Rohan   France Parlementaire honoraire
Noelle Uri France Economiste
Olivier Poivre d’Arvor France Ambassadeur de France en Tunisie
Smain Laacher France Chercheur au Centre d'Études des Mouvements Sociaux (CNRS-EHESS)
Stéphane Cossé   France Directeur des Affaires Publiques, COVEA
Xavier North   France Inspecteur Général des Affaires Culturelles, Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication
Pierre Beylau France Journaliste
Philippe Meyer France Journaliste, France Inter et France Culture
Pascale Andreani France Chef de la Délégation Française, Commission Transmanche
Philippe Esper France Président-Directeur Général, Eurotradia International
Jacques Martial France Président du Mémorial ACTe
Isabelle Wekstein France Avocat à la Cour
Axelle Lemaire France Ministères de l'Économie, des Finances, de l'Action et des Comptes publics
Bastien Francois France Professeur de Sciences Politique, Université Paris I
Bouchra Aliouat France Secrétaire Générale, Fondation d’entreprise KPMG France
Aurélie Bonal France Diplomate, Consultante Médias, Ambassade de France à Londres
Arnaud Vaissié France Président de la Chambre Franco-Britannique, Chambre de Commerce et d’Industrie
Anne Simonin France Directrice de recherche au CNRS
Anne-Marie Couderc France Ancienne députée, Présidente du Conseil d’Administration de Presstalis
Catherine Withol de Wenden France Directrice de Recherche au CNRS (CERI)
Catriona Seth   France Professeur de littérature française du XVIIIe siècle, Université de Lorraine
Denis Baranger France Professeur de droit public, Université Paris II (Panthéon-Assas)
Henri Bentegeat France Général d’armée
Hervé Machenaud France Ancien Directeur de la branche Asie Pacifique, EDF
Cyril Blondel France Sous-Directeur de l’Europe Occidentale et Nordique, Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Développement International
Christine De Mazières France Conseillère Maître à la Cour des Comptes
Cécile Van De Velde France Professeur d’Université en Sociologie
Christian Quesnot France Général d’armée
Alain Quinet France Directeur Général Délégué, Réseau Ferré de France